September 23, 2020

Clai Morehead presents at MD/PhD National Student Conference

Clai Morehead

A shout-out to MD/PhD student L. Clai Morehead, a student in Isabelle Miousse’s and Alan Tackett’s labs, who has been selected to present a talk at the annual MD/PhD National Student Conference this week. Clai also received a Diversity Award to support her participation in the virtual conference. Her talk, “Caloric restriction mimetics as an…

September 9, 2020

$1.9 Million Grant Funds DNA Damage Research by Justin Leung, Ph.D.

Justin Leung working in the lab.

By Susan Van Dusen A $1.9 million grant from the National Institute of General Medical Studies (NIGMS) will allow a scientist at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) to advance his research of DNA damage response (DDR) in cancer and genetic disorders. Justin Leung, Ph.D., received the five-year grant for his project titled…

September 8, 2020

Duah Alkam Student Highlight

Duah Alkam

Duah is a GPIBS Ph.D. student in the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology track. She is starting her 5th year in the laboratories of Dr. Mark Smeltzer and Dr. David Ussery. She has a B.S. in Pharmaceutical Sciences and a M.S. in Pharmacology from The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Research Interest Statement Osteomyelitis, or bone infection,…

September 1, 2020

August publications

Tackett lab

Genome-wide Cas9 binding specificity in Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Waldrip ZJ, Jenjaroenpun P, DeYoung O, Nookaew I, Taverna SD, Raney KD, Tackett AJ. PeerJ.       Frequent expression of activation induced cytidine deaminase in diffuse large B-cell lymphoma tissues from persons living with HIV. Shponka V, Reveles CY, Alam S, Jaramillo M, Maguire A, Rimsza LM,…

August 31, 2020

On the cover

Molecular Omics cover

Congratulations to Aaron Storey and his co-authors on their publication featured on the August 2020 cover of Molecular Omics.  The project was a collaboration between multiple labs and the proteomics and bioinformatics core facilities lead by Stephanie Byrum.

August 26, 2020

Alan Tackett receives $10.6 Million Grant to Expand National Proteomics Resource at UAMS

Alan Tackett

By Susan Van Dusen A $10.6 million grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) will allow the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) to greatly expand its proteomics resource. This grant will establish the IDeA National Resource for Quantitative Proteomics as the first NIH National Resource in Arkansas, which will serve biomedical researchers…

Cancer Institute Member Spotlight

Alan Diekman

Alan Diekman, Ph.D. Professor Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Department of Urology UAMS College of Medicine Research Interest Statement Research in the Diekman laboratory focuses on galectin-3, a carbohydrate-binding protein, in cancer and normal male reproductive function. Galectin-3 is implicated in the progression of multiple cancers, including prostate and breast cancer. Previously, we investigated…

August 19, 2020

Dr. Tackett appointed to NIH study section

Alan Tackett, Ph.D.

Dr. Alan Tackett, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, has been invited to serve as a standing member of the NIH Mechanisms of Cancer Therapeutics-1 (MCT1) Study Section, one of the major review boards for evaluation of cancer research by the Center for Scientific Review. The four-year appointment recognizes Dr. Tackett, who also serves as…

August 2, 2020

July publications


Neonatal Diet Impacts Circulatory miRNA Profile in a Porcine Model. Carr LE, Bowlin AK, Elolimy AA, Byrum SD, Washam CL, Randolph CE, MacLeod SL, Yeruva L. Front Immunol. 2020     Novel advances in biotransformation and bioactivation research-2019 year in review. Khojasteh SC, Driscoll JP, Jackson KD, Miller GP, Mitra K, Rietjens IMCM, Zhang D….

July 29, 2020

Dr. Miller Appointed to NIH Study Section

Grover Miller

Congratulations to Dr. Grover Miller, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, on his appointment to the Xenobiotic and Nutrient Disposition and Action (XNDA) Study Section in the National Institutes of Health’s Center for Scientific Review. Dr. Miller will serve a four-year term on the panel, whose members are selected for their excellence and achievement in…

Next page